Peter Steward's Web Site


Home Page Music Reviews Book Reviews Biography My Writing Sign Guestbook Contact Me

 Fleet Foxes

American Folk/Rock Band

Studio Albums

Fleet Foxes





Fleet Foxes

Fleet Foxes - Fleet Foxes  (2008) - 7

Sun It Rises, White Winter Hymnal, Ragged Wood, Tiger Mountain Peasant Song, Quiet Houses, He Doesn't Know Why, Heard Them Stirring, Your Protector, Meadowlarks, Blue Ridge Mountains, Oliver James.

Occasionally you come across an album that works its way quietly but effectively into your sub conscious until the point where you walk around singing tracks from it and snatches of melody waft into your mind. Sometimes its accompanied by one of those where does that come from moments. At other times you instantly know where the song comes from due to its originality. Such was the case with Midlake's "The Trials of Van Occupanther" and it's been repeated by Fleet Foxes' debut album which is full of home spun harmonies reminiscent of Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young and even, at times, of Brian Wilson and the Beach Boys. There is a rawness about Fleet Foxes music that adds to the melodic content. Robin Pecknold has a voice equally at home with soft melodious ballads and more rough grown up rock n roll. This is without doubt an American frontier album full of hope and beauty and White Winter Hymnal has a wondrous roundelay feeling to it. Your Protector is a rollicking tub thumper of a song and elsewhere there is tremendous contrast in a tight album that has proved to be one of the delights of the year and gets better with each play.